Le contenu de cette page nécessite une version plus récente d’Adobe Flash Player.

Obtenir le lecteur Adobe Flash

The Franc Zone

The results of the old French colonial empire

The FRANC Zone covers :

  • 14 countries in sub-Saharan Africa,
  • Comoros Island,
  • France.

Two Zones

Western Africa

Western Africa

Led by the Union Economique et Monétaire Ouest Africaine, UEMOA.

The Banque Centrale des Etats d'Afrique de l'Ouest, BCEAO is the central bank. BIMAO is registered with BCEAO. Senegal and Niger are within its scope.

Orange : Western Africa
Blue : Central Africa


Central Africa

Led by the Communauté Economique et Monétaire d'Afrique Centrale, CEMAC. The Banque des Etats d'Afrique Centrale, BEAC is the central bank. Congo, Cameroon and Central African Republic networks are within its scope.

Two distinct XCFA currencies operate in these zones; both XCFA’s convertibility is guaranteed by the French treasury. The convertibility, anticipated in the Maastricht treaty, has continued since the transition to the Euro.

Join us on     Facebook Twitter

donate (redirection on the site Fondation de France)

Actualité du Centre International du Crédit Mutuel Plug-in Flash requis...

Visiter le site du Crédit Mutuel